St. John’s United Methodist Church has a rich history. Serving, proudly, as the first church in Anderson, SC, it was organized in 1828. Originally, the first physical structure of the church was a log cabin built in 1830 on West Benson Street. In 1858, a framed building was erected on its current site at 515 South McDuffie Street. Later on, in 1888 a brick building replaced the frame. The current sanctuary was completed in 1912, with the editions of the Education Building (1928), and the Activities Building (1956).